Beautiful

When you met me, I was a dream.
Confusing, yet enjoyable.
The break from reality you needed.

Now here we are.
I’m not quite a nightmare, but you sense the scene has changed.
Still more confusing.
Am I good or bad?

I know I can’t keep up the charade.
The peace you enjoyed so much.
I enjoyed it too.
Now we both wake.

Can you see what I really am now?
A flame that longs to touch without harming…
But I can’t.
I have been damaged, and I wear the scars all over my face.

Now you can’t go back to sleep.
Can you look me in the face?
You touch my ripped flesh and still utter the word beautiful
What are you?
What is this?

This is new to me.
I am lost now….
Every move I make feels wrong.
She utters the word beautiful.
Don’t look at me, I scream
BEAUTIFUL, she says

Is it my turn to dream now?
I wanna see you at your nightmare.
Let me wake.
Opening my eyes now….
So many scars on your face.

BEAUTIFUL.

Leave a comment